Sunday, January 16, 2022

"I solemnly swear …"

| January 4, 2022 1:13 PM

The coming weeks will be busy ones for local cities as they swear in their new officials.

Following November’s election results, each city is tasked with swearing in their new leadership prior to them being a part of any formal decision making process — this includes any candidates who were re-elected.

Beginning next week, Mullan, Wallace, Osburn, Wardner, Kellogg, Smelterville and Pinehurst will all hold their first city council meetings of the new year and while several towns are replacing members of their councils — only one town is under new leadership.

In Mullan, they will swear in Mayor Phillip Rounds, along with Councilman-elect Tjell Truesdell and Councilwoman-elect Anali Spooner. The Mullan City Council meeting is Tuesday, Jan. 11 at 6 p.m.

In Wallace, Mayor Lynn Mogensen, as well as Councilmen Elemer Mattila, Dean Cooper, and Rick Schaffer will all be re-sworn in during the Wallace City Council meeting on Wednesday, Jan. 12, at 6 p.m.

Councilmen-elect Kevin Kessler and incumbent Spike Angle won the two open council seats in Osburn; they will be sworn in on Tuesday, Jan. 11, at 6 p.m.

Mayor Mac Pooler, along with Councilmen Buff Mercado, Barney Norris, and Councilwoman-elect Monica Miller will also take their oaths of service during the Kellogg City Council meeting on Jan. 12, at 6 p.m.

City of Wardner Mayor Joe Guardipee along with Councilmen Tim Fitzpatrick and Rick Gilbert will be re-sworn in during the Wardner City Council meeting on Jan. 12, at 6 p.m.

Councilman Jeff Frank and Councilwoman Rosalie Miller will be sworn in during Smelterville’s City Council Meeting on Jan. 12, at 10 a.m.

And Councilman-elect Kyle Ross will be sworn in at Pinehurst’s City Council meeting on Jan. 12, at 6 p.m.

All meetings are at their respective city halls.

Recent Headlines