Sunday, July 14, 2024

Silver Valley Sports: Phillips named to All-State team

| April 2, 2024 1:00 AM

WALLACE — Senior basketball standout Britany Phillips was selected to 1A All-Idaho second team last week following a fantastic. 

Phillips, a 5-foot, 9-inch combo guard, averaged a double-double for the Miners, with 22.9 points, 10.5 rebounds, and 5.1 steals. 

“I am very proud of Britany,” Miner head coach Nichole Farkas said. “The only other teams with selections were Grace, Lapwai, Prairie, and Murtagh. She put in the time over the years to better her game and continues to do so. She’s been a special athlete at Wallace and a positive influence on those around her.” 

Phillips was the only selection from a team that did not qualify for the state tournament – And as Farkas mentioned all the other selections came from teams that placed first, second, third, or fourth in the 1A State Tournament. 

Along with her all-state selection, Phillips was named the Scenic Idaho Conference’s player of the year. 

Phillips will be continuing her playing career at the collegiate level and is expected to sign with Yakima Valley College of the Northwest Athletic Conference.

The Idaho High School All-State selections are first announced by the Idaho Statesman, the newspaper of record in Boise, following voting by coaches statewide.

Other regional all-state selections:


Teagan Colvin (Coeur d’Alene), Avery Waddington (Lake City) and Sophia Zufelt (Lake City) all made the 5A girls first team.

Colvin, who has signed with UNLV, led the Vikings to a second straight state title, averaging 17.8 points, 5.5 rebounds and 3.8 assists per game.

Waddington, a Montana signee, averaged 16.0 points and 4.7 assists for the state runner-up Timberwolves.

Zufelt, who has committed to Texas-Rio Grande Valley, averaged 14.5 points, 5.7 rebounds and 4.2 assists for Lake City.

Nicole Symons of Coeur d’Alene was named 5A girls Coach of the Year.

Logan Orchard of Coeur d’Alene was named to the 5A boys first team. Orchard, who has signed with Eastern Oregon University in La Grande, averaged 11.6 points, 5.9 rebounds and 5.8 assists for the Vikings, who qualified for state for the first time since 2012.

Junior point guard Reese Strawn of Lake City, who averaged 18.6 points, 5.0 assists and 1.9 steals, was named to the 5A boys second team.


Karlie Banks of Sandpoint was named to the 4A girls first team. Banks, a senior wing, averaged 18.5 points, 6.6 rebounds and 1.4 steals for the Bulldogs.

Lakeland junior guard Landree Simon and Sandpoint senior guard Aliya Strock were named to the 4A girls second team.

Simon averaged 18.8 points, 5.7 rebounds and 3.4 steals for the Hawks, who advanced to state for the first time since 2019.

Strock averaged 16.1 points, 4.4 rebounds and 2.4 assists for the Bulldogs before suffering a season-ending knee injury in December.


Bonners Ferry junior guard Asher Williams was named 3A boys Player of the Year for a second straight year. Williams averaged 28.4 points, 6.0 rebounds and 2.0 assists as the Badgers won their first state title.

Nathan Williams of Bonners was named Coach of the Year.

Bonners junior guard Thomas Bateman (15.0 points, 7.0 rebounds, 2.1 assists) and Badgers senior forward Trey Bateman (9.5 points, 7.0 rebounds, 4.1 assists) were named to the 3A boys second team.

Bonners Ferry freshman point guard Taren Bateman (19.8 points, 6.0 rebounds, 4.4 assists) was named to the 3A girls second team.


Grangeville junior center Madalyn Green (17.1 points, 8.7 rebounds, 2.5 steals) was named to the 2A girls second team.

1A Division I

Lakeside sophomore wing Tyson Charley (20.7 points, 6.9 rebounds, 5.8 assists, 3.4 steals), who led the defending champion Knights to a state runner-up finish, was named to the 1A Division I boys first team.

Lakeside senior point guard Brutis SiJohn (12.9 points, 5.8 rebounds, 8.9 assists) was named to the second team.